Chris' blog entry Getting the Story Right

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
ron45's picture
ron45
Chris' blog entry Getting the Story Right

Chris inferrs that ecomomists got it wrong basing analysis and projections on closed economy models. I'm here and registered on this website because I litterally resonated with what I saw in CC. I am a life long musician and have lived outside the matrix all of my life since highshcool. So I know little about economics. It took me about two minutes to find information that seems to dispute Chris' and the author's [ Origin of Wealth ] conclusions that there are economists working from a closed system model. I am seeking clarification on this subject. Here is a quote from one of the first things I found with a google search. It's from enotes.com and quotes something called the encyclopedia of business for whatever it's worth.

"In the real world, the comparatively closed economies are associated with authoritarian political regimes or with low levels of economic development by capitalist standards. Overall, the global trend for several decades has been toward greater openness, as world capitalist production, distribution, and exchange have become increasingly integrated along international and interregional lines. Some notable phenomena include

• the growing participation of the former Eastern bloc nations and developing countries in world markets;
  • expansion of trade zones in the Americas such as the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and Mercosur;
  • the economic integration of Western Europe under a single-currency; and
  • the implementation of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, which gradually reduces trade barriers among participating nations."
I hope there aren't a lot of examples of this kind of thing. Maybe there's a good reason for the seeming dicotomy. I'd love to hear it.