Career Decisions for the Transition

17 posts / 0 new
Last post
Bananacarrot's picture
Bananacarrot
Career Decisions for the Transition

I am new to this and don't typically post to forums so I don't know if this is really an appropriate place for this kind of topic or not.  My question is of a fairly personal nature.  I am currently a doctoral student in psychology, and after learning from Chris Martenson and various other sources about the situation looming ahead - I have been experiencing a lot of stress and indecision regarding where to go from here.

The way I figure it, being a PhD level therapist is not exactly the most stable recession-proof kind of career.  Seems like it may be one of the earlier fields to begin to falter when the economy begins to crash etc. However, it is also incredibly difficult to justify dropping out and drastically changing my career plans at this juncture.  Continuing on feels incredibly pointless; dropping out and trying to develop a more useful skillset for the future feels incredibly daunting and perhaps extreme. (For instance - I know my family and friends would most likely think me crazy for doing so, not that that is a good reason for making the decision either way). 

Additionally, being a graduate student for several years, I have not accumulated much wealth to utilize.  My partner and I have some liquid funds between us, but not enough to feel like it would be practical to just go out and buy property to farm on. I want to start preparing, but I feel very stuck. Graduate school takes up so much time & energy that it feels like an either/or situation.  Finishing school, or focusing on the Transition. Maybe I can find a way to combine the two.

Bottomline - I know no one can tell me what decision is the "right" one for me, but I do wonder if other people have been faced with similarly difficult decisions and how you have gone about making your choices? Maybe you will have some helpful insights for me.