The best way to buy gold and silver.

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
doorwarrior's picture
doorwarrior
The best way to buy gold and silver.

I have been accumulating gold and silver for about five years now. During those years I have purchased from  APMEX, ebay, coin shows  local dealers and other sources. The premiums have varied as have the shipping charges and I have always felt that as the consumer I was getting the bad end of the trade just so the dealers could make big profits. Recently I wanted to trade some of my coins back into FRN's to buy a tractor. I contacted several sources and found that once again the trade was unfair versus spot prices.

I then contacted my local numismatic society to see if anyone was interested in my coins. I was refered to a gentleman that put buyers and sellers together locally for a very small fee. I was very skeptical during the first transaction, always afraid something would go wrong. The deal went as smoothly as possible and he and I have completed dozens of transactions since. Many times I am buying at spot or less. The transactions are always cash which has its own benefits.

If you are looking to buy or sell contact your local numismatic society. As always be careful who you are dealing with.

Rich

bluestone's picture
bluestone
Re: The best way to buy gold and silver.

Rich

thanks for the post.  this is an interesting alternative to the traditional means of cashing in ones PMs.  Can you further describe the nature of your transactions?  Did you meet the buyer in person in a public place?  Did you only deal with the third party "gentleman" you spoke of"  It is a little bit nerve racking thinking about carrying around a gold piece for a trade.  

Brian

ao's picture
ao
doorwarrior wrote: