Battery Cost Analysis Spreadsheet

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Brandon's picture
Brandon
Battery Cost Analysis Spreadsheet

I didn't want to start a new thread for this, but unfortunately my other file hosting alternative are down at the moment, and you can't attached files to comments...only thread starters.

Attached is a file that I created to help me evaluate different options for batteries to use for a (currently hypothetical) home solar/wind installation.  I have no experience with building such systems; this spreadsheet was created to help me get an understanding of costs.  Many assumptions are made, though I tried to add notes where relevant.

The spreadsheet was made in Open Office.  I do not know how good it will look in Excel, though it should at least open it.

Make sure to show comments for individual cells that are marked as having comments.  If you only rollover a cell with a comment, it will likely exclude all URLs I placed in the comment.

My target total AHs was around 750-1100 at 12V.  Your needs are likely different, and as such, adjustment of calculations may need to take place.  In fact, I am now considering a 24V system, which would change the calculations, not to mention my initial selection of batteries to begin with had I know that I would later lean towards 24V.  However, for the most part, the patterns in this spreadsheet would also be reflected at 24V, I think, but have not verified.

There are a few highlighted batteries.  These represent ones I highlighted for myself as having the best balance between initial investment I may be able to afford, and overall value (AH vs. $ vs. Lifespan).  I suppose one could create a new value that factors in initial investment as a factor in overall value, but I prefer to look at these values seperately.