Auto Recycling Opportunity Coming?

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Tim_P's picture
Tim_P
Auto Recycling Opportunity Coming?

If you believe in the concept of Peak Oil, you cannot escape the conclusion that the bulk of the cars on the road today will be useless in 10 years.  That idea combined with the belief that Peak Oil will result in shortages of almost everything else has started me thinking about the possible business opportunity coming in dismantling cars and trucks.  I'm not talking about the typical junk yard seen today, but more of a small shop that takes in complete cars and produces bulk recycleable materials and possibly repurposed parts.

As energy becomes scarce, finding ways to save energy will become very important.  In the past, I worked as an aircraft sheetmetal mechanic and in every shop I worked, there were bins full of sorted metals that brought a fair bit of money back into the organization.  Is there a potential market in the materials that go into manufacturing the transportation of tomorrow? 

What do you folks think?  Could a business be created that can cleanly disassemble and sort the materials used in today's cars or will the large junk yards that just crush and smelt be the destiny of most cars.

Tim

nickbert's picture
nickbert
Re: Auto Recycling Opportunity Coming?

Tim,