Advice for Solar Power, other alternative advice

71 posts / 0 new
Last post
LogansRun's picture
LogansRun
Advice for Solar Power, other alternative advice

I'm looking to set my home up for solar power in the DC/N. VA area as well as to look at other types of energy production/survival issues.  I'm learning to turn a screw driver but not very good at doing labor on my own at this time (but am frantically trying to learn).  So I need advice, help or companies that will come out and do what needs to be done.  I want to spend my dollar while it's still worth a whopping penny as it will be worth $.00001 soon. 

Any help will do but again, I'm not good at nor do I trust my own work yet.

Thanks in advance.

capesurvivor's picture
capesurvivor
Re: Advice for Solar Power, other alternative advice

titanic,

My electrician's truck has a bumper sticker.."Electricity is not an amateur sport."  There are folks on this site here who know a lot but they (probably) don't live next door.

Maybe you can use barter or a local voc tech school? I work PT at one and they are really getting into alternative enegy. They love projects for their students to practice on and they are well supervised.

SG

Roundhouse's picture
Roundhouse

If you were on the other side of the country, I could help!  I have 30+ years of experience with solar HW systems plus PV/wind charging systems. For myself, I have only solar HW and wood heat since our electricity is so cheap here ($.05/KW) that the return on investment is horrible.  I do have an electric golf cart that has a PV for a roof that produces approx 1 mile of driving/hour or charge.  Perfect for zooming around our community and hauling firewood off our 20 acres.  This fall, I will convert an old pickup to all electric so I can actually drive that to work.... still working out the best way to recharge that unit.  I'd love to go solar but wind is a good option here too.