ABC News reports Houston is good place to ride out recession.

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
JAG's picture
JAG
ABC News reports Houston is good place to ride out recession.

ABC News reported today that of the 39 major metropolitan areas of the country, only 3 actually gained jobs last year, Houston, San Antonio, and Austin (all in Texas). They reported that the low cost of living and availability of jobs in Houston is causing thousands of people across the country to move here. As a lifetime Houston resident, I wanted to provide some "pros and cons" about Houston for anyone who might be interested in moving here in the future.

Houston Pros:

1) The cost of living is very low for a city thats the 4th largest in the country. Housing is cheap, and Houston really had no significant local housing bubble over the last 6 years.

2) Oil Industry- With peak oil looming (or without it) Houston's economy is stabilized by the fact that its the center of the oil industry.

3) Winters are awesome in Houston.

4) Diversified Population- Houston has a great mix of cultures (think restaurants). 

5) Top Medical Center in the nation. 

Houston Cons:

1) Houston is a pretty "ugly" place to live. With the exception of the beaches, Houston has very little natural landscape. And the ubiquitous oil refineries and chemical plants really don't help much either. 

2) The freaking summers are unbearable. Between the 90+% humidity and oppressive heat, I don't how anybody lives here without AC.

3) Hurricanes- We just got hit with Hurricane Ike last year, so we are probably "ok" in the hurricane department for a few years.

4) Traffic- probably not a big deal for those coming from other big cities.

5) Houston is the "fattest" city in the nation (think restaurants). Though this might be a pro if you want to build your biological food storage for the lean times ahead (ha, ha).

As I noted in this post,

Good News, The Great Recession is Over!