Need Advice with Life Change and Planning

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
killerhertz's picture
killerhertz
Need Advice with Life Change and Planning

Hi All,

My family and I are looking to make a change to lead a more resilient and fulfilling life. I think I know where to start, but part of me wants some sort of validation or tips from more senior and experienced people here. I'm currently living in the DC suburban sprawl in Virginia with my wife and one child. I'm a software systems engineer working in DoD and have been doing that since I moved down here about 10 years ago. I'm fairly happy with my job and career, but I feel disconnected from the land/food and untrusting of the alien social networks of DC suburbia. We have a small group of friends, some of whom are on the some page with concerns about sustainability of energy and economy. However, I think the majority of the population are living so large that they are blind to these issues, among others. I think this is largely attributable to how transient DC is. Land and housing is incredible expensive here, which isn't surprising since we all know that money creation is largely focused where either bankers and bureaucrats live and work.

That aside, I think living in the DC area has some benefits. There are a lot of high paying jobs and smart people. In the short term, I think it's advantageous to be close to the source of the wealth redistribution. Virginia has a pretty diverse, temperate environment from the Appalachians to the Potomac and Chesapeake. There are a lot of smart, entrepreneurial people here. After a collapse, I think it could pay off for job creation. Currently a lot of the smarts are tied up with DoD, but this could certainly change. There could be a mass exodus like Detroit, but I think DC is a little more diverse and unless the government completely collapses, which I don't think it ever will, I think this area has potential.