A Big Problem WIth Thinking That Solar Is An Effective Means to Energy Independence.

27 posts / 0 new
Last post
Morpheus's picture
Morpheus
A Big Problem WIth Thinking That Solar Is An Effective Means to Energy Independence.

So, let's examine this, shall we? 

Per wikipedia, annual US electricity consumption in 2013 was 4.7 billion MW-hrs.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_electricity_consumption

From professional experience (I am an engineer and physicist, doing research in power management) I can also assume the following 

Average effective area of a solar panel: 1.6 m

Average Effective Full Output  Hours Sunlight Per Day over the USA: 4.5 

Typical power output of a 1.6 m panel ~ 240-250 W.

Thickness of the silver paste layer in a photovoltaic cell: 700-750 um

Density of Silver: ~ 10.5 grams/cm-cubed

From the above we can calculate the following. 

Replacing just x% of the US electrical consumption, assuming 240 watt panels, 1.6 m-sq, at 4-5 hours equivalent full sun per day  would require the following quantities of silver:

Percent USA Electricity Usage Replaced by Solar.  Millions of Troy Oz Silver Required to Replace x% of Electrical Consumption with Solar Percent of 2010 Total Silver Production (per the Silver Institute)
1%  75.52  7.1%
5%  377.58  35.3%
10%  755.16  70.6%
20%  1,510.32  141.2%
50%  3,775.80  352.9%

The silver quantity is derived from the known thickness required for the silver paste layer of solar panels.

It turns out to be about 20 grams per panel, or 20 grams per 240 watts of power.