"Collapse" versus "Abundance" : 2 perspectives on next 20 years of the world

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
flexmens's picture
flexmens
"Collapse" versus "Abundance" : 2 perspectives on next 20 years of the world

Hi all,

As you know by now, I am still a newbie to this forum, but not necessarily to the Topics that are discussed here. In my humble limited research in the last few years, I have come across 2 different views of the world in the next 20 years, and both are based on understanding the "exponential growth" that is underlying the trends. In a Summary:

(A) The "Collapse" Scenario : Do not have to explain here, you all know, and the Crash Course is indeed a good summary

(B) The "Abundance" Scenario : Here the idea is that for many Technology Trends, there is an Exponential Growth visible, like in (a) Computing, (b) Nano-technology, (c) Genetics, (d) Artificial Intelligence, (e) Robotics, etc.. and the impact this have on Energy Creation, Fresh Water production, Food, etc... . In the "beginners" book "Abundance" of of Peter Diamandis you can see an overview of this, and if you read the book "Singularity" of Kurweil, you see the Exponential growth function described behind these Technology domains. Bottom-line: as these Technologies are advancing in an exponential way, we can expect major changes in coming 20 years, and this could lead to a life of abundance..... Simply said as a result: if you can produce enough "free" or "low-cost" energy, you can produce enough fresh water, and then you can produce enough foods, etc... of course, reality is more complicated, but just to make the point simple.

So, two kind of contradicting scenario's and both based on exponential growth of underlying trends.

I do not know what scenario is more realistic, I only hope that Scenario "B" can help to solve some of the negative impacts of Scenario "A". It might all be wishful thinking, just to keep my sanity in this ;-)