Testing drinking water sample for radiation from Japan

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
johnvan's picture
johnvan
Testing drinking water sample for radiation from Japan

I'm an Airline Pilot that would like to test the water at our layover hotel in Narita, Japan. I've contacted a lab back home in Florida and they requested 3 liters for the test. I would just like to see if the water is safe there. Any pointers on what to look for in the results after I have the test done? Thanks.

Mr_Potatohead's picture
Mr_Potatohead
Pointers about testing water

As a professional chemist, I regularly have been asked whether I could analyze something.  The answer always is "yes", but most people don't go any further because they are discouraged by my follow-up questions.  Analyzing something is only part of the challenge. The other key parts are deciding what to analyze for, how to do the analysis cost effectively, and then interpreting the results for the analysis.  If you are interested in determining whether the water from Japan contains radioactive contaminants, you'll need to focus on this issue.  Do not simply ask the company to analyze the water unless you want to pay for lots of unnecessary tests.  My suggestion would be to contact a local company that does well inspections for homes.  This will be the cheapest way to start.  Request a "gross alpha" test, which will measure the total amount of alpha radiation from all contaminants. Be frank with the company about where the water came from and what you are doing.  If they won't do it, find another.  My guess is that you'll need a lot less than 3 liters.  If the results come back okay, the water is okay.  If the results come back high - esp very high, additional testing could be explored to determine which elements are present.  This gets expensive quickly, and it NEVER proves where the elements came from. 

In the meantime, the following URL might be helpful --> http://www.epa.gov/radtown/well-water.html#protect_yourself