I am new at buying gold - need help

24 posts / 0 new
Last post
Lykkelig's picture
Lykkelig
I am new at buying gold - need help

Hello

I am new to gold investing. I have decided to invest in physical gold, but I have yet to buy my first coin. I am in the process of finding out how concretely to do it. I have a question for anyone out there who has experience with this. Hope you can help me out.

I have seen vidoes on youtube in which investors of bullion coins show their collections of physical gold. It seems as if gold bullion coins are often in protective plastic covers.

I have read that 24 carat gold is very soft and has to be in a protective cover and is not supposed to be removed from the cover. 

I am curious: How do you know that the gold you have purchased is real ? If you cant remove the gold from the plastic and personally inspect it. (Measure its height and diameter and weigh it.)
I have seen videoes of people on youtube perform these standard tests to verify the authenticity of their gold. If the gold is in protective plastic covers and are not to be taken out of there, I guess it is entirely a matter of you trusting your dealer then?

Thanks for any answer or comment you may have.

lykkelig

Ken C's picture
Ken C
What to buy

As far as whether to buy 24 kt or 22 kt. I think that it can be argued either way. Keep  in mind that you are not going to be carrying the coins like pocket change so if you take care of the 24 kt you should not have a problem with damage. Store them in the tubes or covers they come  in.

I personally like American Gold Eagles but any of the other major coins are good too. Sealed coins are usually numismatic coins and that is a different investment than buying bullion coins. I see little benefit in sealed numismatic coins. If you are buying bullion coins for their bullion value protection there is no reason to get sealed/graded coins.