16 posts / 0 new
Last post
madamez's picture
madamez

I'm sure this has been discussed before but don't see it listed in the last 5 pages of threads....  I am seriously considering withdrawing from my 401K to buy some necessary stuff I know I'll need to be prepared.  I figure it won't be worth much after the collapse, but the goods it would buy now will be invaluable.  My plan only lets me take a loan of up to half my savings, to be repaid over 5-20yrs.....  So being a single mom i'm wondering; chances I'll get my money out now, safely before the banks go under (and then at that point who is really gonna be bothered with enforcing me to pay back a loan to myself and will the government be bothered enforcing the tax penalty on me) VS. chances i lose my job (i'm a nurse) and the banks come after me to repay and I can't pay.  

Anyone in the same position?

Poet's picture
Poet
I Wouldn't Do A 401(k) Loan

Madamez

You can do whatever you want.

However, if I were in your position, I would NOT be taking out a 401(k) loan. As you know, if you ever get laid off or fired or had to leave your job for whatever reason, the loan is repayable in FULL within 90 days. And if you were in a position where you couldn't immediately repay the loan, it's considered an unqualified withdrawal, which means you have to pay taxes on it at your marginal tax rate, as well as the 10% additional penalty on top of the taxes. If you can't pay, it's not a bank, but Uncle Sam who comes after you.

Now, if you wanted to actually take a distribution and pay taxes on it, I guess you could do that, instead of a loan. At least you know where that leaves you.