Suburban Prepping at our Chateau

33 posts / 0 new
Last post
Snydeman's picture
Snydeman
Suburban Prepping at our Chateau

Greetings Fellow PPers! I put together a video (about 25 minutes) that illustrates the approaches my wife and I have taken towards preparing for a variety of potential crises. You can find the video here. A few things to note:

1) I'm not a professional video guy, so take it as an amateur using his family camcorder and some basic video editing software, because it is.

2) Our preps are nowhere near complete. We have tons more to do, tons more to purchase, and tons more to learn. I suspect it will always be that way!

3) As Rector pointed out to the community on another thread about a month back, we are NOT prepared for every crisis. We have taken what he and others have reflected on - from fires to hurricanes to flooding - and are reassessing how we can expand our preparations to include responses to those problems.

4) I'm not sharing this with the intent of showing how everyone should prepare, nor to show the best preparations one can make, but rather only sharing what we're doing. Please feel free to give us suggestions, since the many minds of PP's community are far better than our two heads. We haven't thought of everything.

5) Yes, I am extremely lucky to have a wife who is "on-board."

6) I use the term "TEOTWAWKI" a lot. It was coined by James Rawles in this book, and it means "The End Of The World As We Know It," which isn't to say complete destruction and Armageddon, but rather any major alteration to the way the world is currently running, whether that is economic, social, environmental, or political. There are simply too many crisis strands coming together in this moment to know which is the one that snaps, or how strands snapping will affect all the others, to prepare for any specific shift. What my wife and I do believe is that, as Chris frequently says, the "next 20 years will be [vastly] unlike the last 20 years."