Sources for ag employees

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
MarkM's picture
MarkM
Sources for ag employees

I am looking for sources for an employee for my farm. For all the talk about young people wanting to get started in agriculture, but there are no opportunities, I have not found them to be so plentiful.

Any sources would be appreciated. I am using the Eager Farmer run by Joel Salatin's daughter-in-law and Linkedin. WWOOF tends to not have people looking for a long term commitment.

Thanks.

kaimu's picture
kaimu
IS IT JUST AG?

Aloha Mark! I am a farmer in Hawaii and have been for 18 years. I have always found it difficult to find truly motivated younger generation employees. In most cases when I did get some I could work circles around them. Granted ag is not exactly the most richly rewarded in terms of financial gains, but I kind of thought it was more about lifestyle.

Actually come to think about it being in media and tech also I have yet to find any super motivated and exceptional younger workers. Maybe they're all working overseas!

I just recently hired a techie to design a new website and do some basic upgrades to an existing website and was surprised he was lacking basic communication and office skills. This guy is the owner of his own company. They like to text a lot and in business that does not fly. Don't text me a contract! They can't even produce a decent invoice and you can find invoice templates on Excel or internet easily. I tell them LEARN AND USE QUICKBOOKS!! They don't! Half the time I think they want me to do their invoice so they can Twitter more! Here are some comments I made about their invoices:

-Does your invoice have an invoice number?

-Can you put your email and phone number on your invoice?

-What does this invoice cover?

-Do you have PayPal or a method of online payment?

-Do you know what a W9 is?

I will bet I have had to ask all the above or one or two of those at least 20 times the past year.