Helping Talent Bloom

Adam Taggart
By Adam Taggart on Tue, May 24, 2016 - 8:01pm

I had a "feel good" experience today that I think is worth sharing. I'm posting it in this 'Community Building' group, as it does involve building Social Capital/Community, but mostly I'm just happy to have been part of this little story.

Lucy (not her actual name) is a student in my 9 year-old daughter's 4th grade class.

She's always had a different teacher than my daughter before this year, so I haven't known her that well before now. But each year at the school concerts -- you know, those ones where the whole class is trotted out to sing holiday carols? -- she catches my ear.

I went to high school with a few folks who eventually became really successful singers (for example, my good buddy Pete is currently playing Jean Valjean in Les Mis in London), so I have some experience with what a kid with a naturally talented voice sounds like.

Lucy struck me as likely having that gift. Even surrounded by 40 other enthusasticly-hollering elementary schoolers, every so often I'd catch a clear-sounding strain from her that stood out from the rest.

Anyways, a few weeks back, I chaperoned a field trip for the 4th graders and was able to spend some time getting to know Lucy. She's super-cute, bubbly and can hold a surprisingly mature conversation with an adult. I asked her about her singing, and as expected, she told me about the love for music she's always had, and how singing is a joy for her. She's completely self-taught; no singing lessons or mentoring so far -- just raw natural passion.