Getting started

jussaumm
By jussaumm on Wed, Mar 9, 2016 - 8:03am
Hi, 

I am just getting started on a permaculture veggie garden. I am reading Elliot Coleman's Four Season Harvest and I am excited about the year round possibilities.

I have the garden area marked out as 5 beds that are 30 inches wide by 20 ft long. If those beds are divided into quarters, that gives me 20 smaller areas for planting. 

My question is how to get started. I would like to do succession planting but is the 5 ft lengths too big or should I be using the 5 ft lengths for a single veggie and plant a few at a time? 

Many thanks,
Matt 

24 Comments

Bytesmiths's picture
Bytesmiths
There are no rules!

Don't over-analyze things at this stage.

Go out, get dirt under your fingernails, take notes, figure out what works and what doesn't and why.

The size of your beds seem fine. What was there before? Grass?

In any event, you're probably needing to build soil. Do you have a source for manure? Work two wheelbarrows full of aged compost and/or manure into each 20' bed, more if you're growing hungry crops (potatoes, squash, etc.)

jussaumm's picture
jussaumm
There is certainly a bit of

There is certainly a bit of overwhelm coming with this new adventure and also the illusion of choice. 

I don't have a manure source. We started composting this week but that takes time. Can I purchase compost somewhere? 

There is currently grass when I intent to plant. I guess I'll be tilling a bit at a time with each little bit that I plant? It is still early here in Massachusetts so I will have to start with seeds indoors and transplant. 

There is a bit to this but you are right, I do just need some progress. 

Bytesmiths's picture
Bytesmiths
Steps

If you are planning annual vegetables, you need to work the ground. You need to either purchase a rototiller, or hire the tilling. Perhaps your local CraigsList would be a good place to get either.