The Difficulty of Living in Two Worlds: Harvest and Hokum

Wendy S. Delmater
By Wendy S. Delmater on Wed, Sep 3, 2014 - 1:15pm

I'm working hard on our harvest--canning, drying things, freezing, and such. All of this is preparation for the world I think is coming: a world where we will be much more responsible for making our own food. It's necessary to learn all the ins and outs not only gardening but preserving food while the world is still (relatively) stable.

At the same time, I have to function in the "real world," such as it is, right now. This means all sorts of necessary tasks - from redoing our bathroom to get rid of a mold problem, to doctor visits, to managing money, keeping house, planning as solar installation, and garden consulting, etc. This is a draining dual-process. It's a recipe for exhaustion. So I am going as easy on myself as I can.

I keep reminding myself that I am just learning at the moment. and that if push comes to shove, as I think it inevitably will, that we will have much more time to work on our gardens. So if I let some of the cabbages get woody before harvesting, or the weeds get a little out of hand in the onion patch, that's okay for now. If we did not prune the grape vines so the harvest is light . . .well, if things get bad, we will not forget to prune. When we are more dependent on this food, we will work harder on it. Now is the time to make sure you have the tools to prune, and can your food, and seeds, and good soil. Right now it is actually cheaper and easier to stock out pantry from the grocery store, so I try not to feel guilty about it (and try to buy locally grown meat, dairy, and produce).

Most of us have limited resources and lots of projects to get to, in whatever time we have left before a currency crisis, a plague, or something like an EMP changes how we live. It's perfectly all right to spend less time on gardening and canning than you would if things had already fallen apart.