why is Chris cool on GLD?

drbrucedale
By drbrucedale on Sat, Jun 21, 2014 - 11:09pm

I am new to precious metals but I understand the rationale for owning them.  I can buy GLD and SLV through my retirement plan with pre tax dollars, so that investment approach is very attractive to me.  However, Chris seems quite negative on GLD.  I would appreciate understanding why he (or any of you) feels that way.  Understand the pros and cons of owning GLD or SLV versus the physical metals will help me make a better decision. Thanks for your help to anyone who might care to respond.

11 Comments

skyfall's picture
skyfall
There's a good quote in the

There's a good quote in the book "The Death of Money" where the author says that "the amount of gold subject to paper contracts is one hundred times the amount of physical gold backing those contracts."

Holding the physical asset trumps all.  A paper claim on an asset could turn to nothing in the event of a serious collapse. 

davefairtex's picture
davefairtex
GLD custodian

The entity that actually holds the bars behind GLD is HSBC.  In the event there is a problem in the gold market, I for one don't trust HSBC not to have some China-metals-like rehypothecation issue with their gold bars that ends up trumping GLD's claims.  I expect the big banks to hose their customers at the drop of a hat, and since gold is a Big Disaster insurance policy, putting my faith in a big bank to come through for me during a Big Disaster just seems like folly.

drbrucedale's picture
drbrucedale
thanks and follow up question