Solar Power Cooperatives

HughK
By HughK on Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - 8:52am

As I wrote in a post in the Michael Shuman interview thread, I have joined a solar power cooperative here in my area of Switzerland and I would like to share what I know so far about how this cooperative works, and also some of the technical aspects of the solar centers that it maintains, in the hope that others with experience with either individual solar systems or members of other solar cooperatives might also share their experience as far as what works well and what doesn’t.

Also, I'm a novice regarding solar power, so if anyone has anything to teach or share regarding solar power installations, I'd be grateful. One caveat: I have a lot of assumptions here, and don't understand the project as well as I like, due to some linguistic barriers, but I am on break for the next two weeks, so I will have time to meet with a representative of the coop one on one and ask some question regarding things I didn't fully understand in our general meeting, which is in French.

Here are the basic facts:

The cooperative is an independent organization, not tied to the local utility. It owns three arrays of PV panels at two locations at present. In a good year, the cooperative produces about 33,000 kWh of electricity. It sells the electricity at a premium through a program that encourages businesses to use some amount of renewable electricity. The price of everything is a little higher in Switzerland, of course, so hold your breath...the cooperative can receive 0.45 CHF (Swiss francs) per kilowatt hour. That's about 0.50 USD per kWh.

The capital invested in the coop, used to build these solar PV power stations is approximately 180,000 CHF. So, assuming the coop can continue to receive the 0.45/CHF per kWh and assuming that the coop can continue to produce 33,000 kWh per year, then this is the payback time that I calculate:

33,000 kWh per year * 0.45 CHF per kWh = 14850 CHF per year of revenue