beginning the journey... in my mid 40's

personalliberty
By personalliberty on Thu, Aug 22, 2013 - 7:31am

My company is laying off and all signs point...... to me - as well as other's (don't want to be selfish here!).  It started with low rating on an annual performance review; shockingly low.  I just didn't have any idea that my contributions were so ill respected.  At this point, I started going through the stages of grief : denial, anger, bargaining, depression and on my way to acceptance at this point.  Keep in mind, I'm not laid off yet - that list comes out in October but their are many signs : targeting of managers, low annual ratings, business isn't as well as expected in my area, and my boss starting our annual review session with "... the company believes they can find better talent on the open market than keep lower rated employees..."  I felt like a seal clubbed in the back of the head.

I, like Adam, am in high-tech.  I'm a manager at a very successful, global, prestigious, well known company.  in fact, I have, in my mind, always wanted to work here someday.  However, I can tell you, I am not fulfilled in any sort of way except monetarily.  I make great money but feel quite dead and empty.

I purchased Adam's book because of his high tech story and the path he has gone down and am looking forward to reading and putting it into action.  Even if I don't get the bullet between the eyes, I'm starting a different path and the first step is with this book... should arrive in a day or two from amazon.

support and hugs to all out there who can relate... 

8 Comments

Adam Taggart's picture
Adam Taggart
We're here for you

Ugh - hearing the "dead & empty" description of your job in the corporate grind sure brings back unpleasant memories. In fact, I'm hearing that same story more frequently now from the contacts I still have in Silicon Valley.