Gardening adaptation to volatile weather

Rob P
By Rob P on Wed, Jul 24, 2013 - 12:33pm

I've never done this before, so I hope this is the way to do it.  I also don't know if there is some sort of protocol.  Wendy, if you're the moderator, please excuse if I'm suppose to inform you first.

I thought I'd share some of my recent experiences of trying to adapt my gardening to weather volatility. I'm making decisions right now that may help others in how they approach this.

Maybe to just give a bit of background: I have been gardening for about 9 years. I have about 2,000 square foot of raised beds and 4 large cold frames, in which we grow about one half of our food (by volume). We eat out of the yard every day, 12 months out of the year. It's four season gardening.

We are in the “Missouri Bootheel”; this refers to the far southeast corner where Missouri hangs down into Arkansas and Tennessee. We're about half way between Memphis and St. Louis, at the upper edge of the Mississippi Delta. Historically we have been barely inside of gardening “zone 6”, however, I think we're now turning into zone 7 (i. e. lowest winter temps at 10 degrees f).

The real challenge has been the volatility of the weather. Really, it would be easy enough to adapt to a general increase in temps and a shift in frost dates. What is hard – really hard – is adapting to the range of weather that is now occurring. One recent spring saw rain all through March, April and into May. The sun literally did not come out sufficiently to grow lettuce or other spring crops. Many seeds either rotted or the seedlings were stunted. A late, second planting was successful with many spring plants; summer was generally OK.