Resources

rayne
By rayne on Tue, Jun 11, 2013 - 12:40am

Would anyone like to share recommendations on homeschooling resources?  I am new to this idea and my son (JET) is still only a toddler so I have a few years to read, research, and prepare.  I really don't want to be restricted with a set boxed curriculum but I also don't think radical unschooling will fit either.  We will probably go ala carte with whatever materials work best for him.  

I am reading Project Based Homeschooling by Lori Pickert right now and started "project time" with my son.  He loves it!  I cover the kitchen table with a cloth and then put out a few sheets of cardstock, some popsicle sticks, crayons, markers, colored glue sticks, and various small containers filled with buttons, pompoms, feathers, etc.  The only rule for project time is that no one leads JET into making anything.  He does whatever he wants with the materials.  I usually sit next to him and make something and only once did he try to copy my idea.  I feel like this will be a good way to transition him into self-directed homeschooling.  

Note: If you're reading this and are not yet a member of Peak Prosperity's Homeschooling Group, please consider joining it now. It's where our active community of homeschooling enthusiasts share ideas, experiences, and the adventures of learning with our children at home and in our communities. Simply go here and click the "Join Today" button.

7 Comments

marky's picture
marky
Homeschooling