where to buy gold and precious metals

Joe McDonald
By Joe McDonald on Tue, Mar 19, 2013 - 10:44am

I am interested in what yourexperience has been in purchasing bullion coins. I have bought several times from APMEX and have been satisfied but wonder what else is out there.

7 Comments

Sami Jim's picture
Sami Jim
Lots of choices

The choices for me while looking on line were too many, as I am new to purchasing coin. I settled a few months ago on Independent Living, and have zero complaints. Being a small purchaser, I see the premiums do vary a bit, but appear to be competitive.

Poet's picture
Poet
Gainesville Coins

I have experience with both APMEX and Gainesville Coins (in both cases, buying a little silver only). I've noticed that Gainesville Coins is generally a little cheaper and just as good.

Poet

Jim H's picture
Jim H
Gainesville..

I love Gainesville..they keep me broke (in the fiat sense).  I consider this a screaming buy right now;

http://www.gainesvillecoins.com/products/163229/2013-1-oz-american-gold-...

was $75 over spot yesterday... $80 over today.  You are getting a slabbed, serialized, numismatically graded and validated coin for $15 more than one that comes in the Mint plastic laminate.  

LesPhelps's picture
LesPhelps
Reviews

When I've comparison shopped, APMEX prices have always been a little higher than some of their competitors.

I started out with California Numesmatic Investments until they royally fumbled the ball on a shipment.  I got it eventually, but the wait was well past unreasonable.