Peak oil science and evidence - please help

HughK
By HughK on Sun, Mar 10, 2013 - 12:08pm

Hi All,

I would like to see if there are people here who are interested in exploring science and current data regarding peak oil.  I am a high school teacher and I am in the process of piloting a 3-month unit on big shifts in our civilization, with peak resources receiving the most attention in that unit.

The great thing about this is that my students and I come up with all sorts of questions that I would be unlikely to think of if I were just studying these topics on my own.

I spend time at The Oil Drum and some other sites/blogs about peak resources, but as far as I know, I cannot create a new thread on the Oil Drum.  Also, the site is so vast that I haven't always had great luck finding answers to basic questions there, and the editors seem to be too busy to answer email inquiries.

So, if there are people out there who are interested in hammering out some of the details of peak oil, I'd be grateful.  Also, if there is already a thread or forum or group somewhere on Peak Prosperity that is better suited for this discussion, please let me know, but so far I haven't found it, as the posts on the Peak Oil chapter (17a) of the Crash Course are not very active.

My first question is, what are the best, most up-to-date annual global oil production graphs that show a relatively long time series?  Ideally, I'd like a graph that goes from 1900-2011ish, but even 1950-2011ish would be great too.  The reason for this is that my students and I want to compare Hubbert's 1956 projection of the global peak with the actual global peak.

Here is Hubbert's 1956 projection, from his paper Nuclear Energy and the Fossil Fuels, presented to the API in that year.

Now to compare Hubbert's forecast with what actually happened...