Learning how to protect your bitcoins from theft and loss

snafui
By snafui on Fri, Mar 8, 2013 - 8:27am

I'm a bitcoin newb and not totally sold on it so I've been trying to research the issues important to me and hope others get value from what I share along the way..

I've been looking into the issue of privacy, theft, and backups and it has been fascinating. To get going on the bitcoin scene one needs to convert fiat into bitcoins somehow. The way I chose was to use an online wallet service called coinbase, though there are plenty out there such as mtgox. They take 1% as a transaction fee and link your checking acct to your online wallet (or you send them money orders, etc). Online wallets give you the ease of use of a system like paypal, especially if you are a business owner looking to accept bitcoins as payment on a website (like CM could accept donation for PP via bitcoins if he chose).

From my reading though, it has typically been these online services that have been your major risk. They have been hacked, gone offline, lost large numbers of bitcoins and had to promise to repay, etc. And in the case of online wallets you do not own the private key. If anyone is familiar with PGP, SSH, or any other public/private key encryption, owning the private key is how you verify your identity. If your private key is lost, you lose all ability to claim those bitcoins as yours. They literally disappear from the system as unusable for ever after. To use an online wallet site, you only own your username and password and have to trust the site for your security. 

Online wallets sound scary but I think this is where the strength of bitcoin comes in. You can download the bitcoin program to your local PC/Mac/Whatever which gives you a private, local wallet (and your own private key pair). You can then transfer any wealth you've attained from the online wallet to your local wallet for safe storage.