Primitive Skills Practice

svgreengoddess
By svgreengoddess on Sun, Jan 27, 2013 - 7:22pm

I participated in an intro to wilderness survival class yesterday, and would like to find folks to practice some things with.  The class covered mainly building a debris hut and making and using a bow fire drill (not sure if that's the correct name for it).  I'm really new to this kind of thing but want to learn more.  I'm also very interested in learning to work with sticks-throwing, sparring, etc. 

I'm also really wanting to go foraging if anyone here knows a good place.  I know a few plants and have a couple of books. 

Anyone here into these things and want to practice?

Thanks Susan

6 Comments

suziegruber's picture
suziegruber
Re: Primitive Skills Practice

Hi Susan,

How fun!  I want to let you and everyone know about a cool gathering in Forestville.  It's called the Buckeye Gathering and it's super fine.  It's a great place to learn and practice all kinds of primitive skills.  Check it out at www.buckeyegathering.net.

Cheers,

Suzie

ao's picture
ao
Tom Brown
suziegruber wrote:

Hi Susan,

How fun!  I want to let you and everyone know about a cool gathering in Forestville.  It's called the Buckeye Gathering and it's super fine.  It's a great place to learn and practice all kinds of primitive skills.  Check it out at www.buckeyegathering.net.

Cheers,

Suzie

Suzie,

Your curriculum sounds like something out of a Tom Brown class.  I studied with him back in the 80s and learned some of the most useful information I've ever learned. 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Brown_(naturalist)

http://www.trackerschool.com/