how capitalism saved the bees

CrLaan
By CrLaan on Fri, Jul 21, 2017 - 10:11am

3 Comments

newsbuoy's picture
newsbuoy
The Geshtalt of Bee Coloney Collapse

The Koch Neo-Libertarian trolls over at Reason would like you to focus on bees and completely forget about the context. Habitat, darlings, it's about habitat. Human habitat especially don't you think?

Perhaps CrLaan could recommend a chapter from http://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/533763/democracy-in-chains-by-nancy-maclean/?ref=PRH398231DE08&aid=randohouseinc43991-20&linkid=PRH398231DE08

borderpatrol's picture
borderpatrol
I thought article was spot for commercial beekeepers

I'm a newbie beekeeper, only three years and thought article was spot on. Over wintered bees are still having a tough go in my area and it's not just one thing, pesticides both those in agriculture and for treatment, mites, hive beetles, foulbrood, poor beekeeping practices, and habit loss and issues that aren't getting better. Things that are improving are improving genetics, better beekeeping practices for some beekeepers, better education and knowledge thru sources like the internet. There are also some good bee clubs out there that really know their stuff. Unfortunately, there are your typical folks that aren't open minded and create hostility and discontent on people that really want to become better beekeepers. On a sadder note, I haven't seen a single monarch butterfly this year.

apismellifera's picture
apismellifera
I think not~

Seems a very selective use of evidence about the alleged benefits of capitalism on the bees.  The author neglects to mention neonicotinoids and other systemic insecticides, along with their interactions with commercial fungicides as a major cause of bee mortality.  The classically capitalist manufacturers of those substances seem perfectly content to externalize the larger costs of their products.