Prepping With A Reluctant Partner

Adam Taggart
By Adam Taggart on Mon, Mar 27, 2017 - 1:47pm

The third contribution in our new Resilience Spotlight series, featuring stories from Peak Prosperity readers, comes from macro2682. It centers on the challenge of prepping when your partner does not share the same urgency/outlook as you.

I graduated in 2004 with an engineering degree from a great school, but was lured into finance by a fascination with economics and a strong desire to be "rich."

Rich people have the flexibility to pursue their dreams and ideas.  They have control over their time and can spend more of it with their kids, which they will certainly have because rich people don't have any problems attracting women.  

I settled bonds for a few years to earn my stripes, then got into institutional sales working for a $100B investment firm.  I put in 80hr weeks, and never said no to 'one more drink' when good networking came up. 

In 2008/9 my boss and co-worker were fired and I was given the reins.  A few years of continued effort and I had everything I wanted. 

I had been a closeted Malthusian since college, but the crash course helped solidify my perspective.  I've been going to industry conferences for the last decade, carefully talking about my concerns when the cocktails come out.  The industry is NOT unaware.  

I would always stop short of talking about owning actual gold (which I did).  Owning gold is disrespectful to the industry and is grounds for shunning.  It's like an Abercrombie employee coming to work wearing a turtleneck.  Not cool bro. 

I'm a social butterfly; I met my wife in a bar in my late 20s.  She was my polar opposite, shy and attractive.