Bitcoin after the energy crash

jdoyle
By jdoyle on Thu, Feb 9, 2017 - 6:21pm

Hey, newbie here.  I think Bitcoin has so much potential and am really interested in buying some, but I worry about the stability of the electric grid, the internet, cellular communication, and the availability of replacement electronic devices; basically all of the things required to keep Bitcoin going in a low-energy post peak oil future.  It seems like a good buy to grow short term wealth though.  Any advice on dealing with these challenges?  Thanks.

33 Comments

skipr's picture
skipr
everything after the energy crash

I'm not too concerned about BTCs after an energy crash.  If it happens it will kill everything digital, including the war on cash, bankster fraud, one world government (as described by daddy bush in the UN on 9/11/91, exactly 10 years before 911, what a coincidence), etc etc.  Maybe you should get some physical in-your-hands gold and silver as well as some cash and BTCs and put in under your "mattress."  Though it's pretty expensive, I have some "junk" silver (pre-1964 90% silver coins) since it's legal tender.  I think the price of BTCs and other altcoins will explode long before an energy crunch happens.

reflector's picture
reflector
the wrong risks

hi jdoyle, and welcome.

but i think you may be worrying about the wrong risks.

your concerns about peak oil and finding replacement electronics are more longer-term issues. if your goal is short term speculation (next 1-3 years) like you said, these issues won't start to crop up yet.

if you are thinking longer term, i believe the internet is too valuable to people and to companies, for it to go away permanently, though there may be outages. satellite internet (such as hughes) might be a consideration here.

as far as electricity, you should have some backup sources, like solar power or wind, and a generator. using and sending bitcoin doesn't take a lot of electricity, only mining it does.