Starting My Garden

eaviles
By eaviles on Tue, Oct 11, 2016 - 2:25pm

I am just starting my own vegetable garden in my back yard in Northwest Washington. However, I am new to gardening. Any tips on getting started?
How to prepare soil?
What type of techniques will help production?

20 Comments

khuber's picture
khuber
GARDENING IN THE PACIFIC NORTHWEST

Recommend you watch this film. 

http://www.backtoedenfilm.com

robshepler's picture
robshepler
Soil test

A soil test is worth the money you will spend on it, find out what you have and what you are missing.

As organic growers we need to feed the microbes, it is the microbes that break down the nutrients and make them soluble for the plants. There is a synergistic relationship between fungus and plants, the plants exude sugars through their roots to attract the fungus, keep something planted at all times, be it your garden plant or a cover crop.

We brought in 6" of compost for our market garden and tilled it in to start with, we have since gone no till and we use a broad fork to aerate the soil between plantings. We add about an inch of compost at each planting.

Consider growing a cover crop for the first year for soil improvement and weed suppression.

We got a lot out of "The New Organic Grower" by Eliot Coleman, we have gardened most of our lives and Eliot's methods took us to a new unexpected level.

Best of luck! 

eaviles's picture
eaviles
Thank you

Thank you for the recommendation. I will be taking a look at it..

eaviles's picture
eaviles
Will make adjustments

Thank you for the information. I do plan on getting enough compost to layer at least a few inches.
I had never heard of cover crops and will be doing some research of what those are, especially here in the PNW.
Will also be taking a look at the New Organic Grower.

Tall's picture
Tall
Instead of digging or tilling initially

As I get older, I appreciate techniques that allow me to back off on the heavy physical labor.