What denominations gold coins?

16 posts / 0 new
Last post
anolinde's picture
anolinde
What denominations gold coins?

Hi all,

I'm new to investing in PMs and I was wondering about buying gold coins in smaller denominations.  What do you guys think about buying 1/10 oz gold coins?  I'm thinking about buying ten 1/10 oz Maple Leaf coins (because they're 24 carat gold) because that's all I can afford right now and it would just make me feel better to have 10 coins instead of just 1 one-ounce coin :P  Do you guys think it matters what denominations I buy the coins in in terms of investing.  I plan to hold them for a while.  Would it be difficult to sell the smaller denomination coins should I decide to sell them in the future?  Any advice/insight is greatly appreciated!

anolinde's picture
anolinde
Oh, by the way, I already

Oh, by the way, I already own some silver buillion with goldmoney.com.  So I am now thinking about adding to that with gold.  Thanks! :)

Travlin's picture
Travlin
Not a good choice

Anolinde

Welcome to the forums. I’m not a coin buyer myself, but I have done a little research. For gold coins under one ounce the dealer mark-up over spot price, to buy and again to sell, climbs rapidly. This makes them a poor value. If you want to have smaller values you can sell with flexibility then consider one ounce silver coins. A popular alternative is “junk silver”, the dime, quarter, half, and dollar coins of the US before 1965.

Travlin

reflector's picture
reflector
suggestion: buy bullion, not coins

i agree 100% with travlin's comment, above.

1 x 1oz gold eagle would be $1778 at ampex (today's prices), while 10x 0.1 oz gold eagles would cost $2020. you'd be paying an extra $250 and still just getting 1 oz of gold.