Peak Oil/Post Peak Business Opportunities?

17 posts / 0 new
Last post
Jbarney's picture
Jbarney
Peak Oil/Post Peak Business Opportunities?

Hi guys,

This might seem like an idea that is ambitous, but well, many of us are involved in trying to prepare for an uncertain future.  Regardless of what happens I would like to think I would have a job or could do SOMETHING to provide for my family and loved ones.  I was wondering if there are any threads, bits of information, or opinions on local business investments that actually might do well in the coming years.

I know CM has dropped some hints about woodlands being available for home heating use, and preparing for a world where local food production is key, but any other ideas?

Hell, I don't even have the resources to invest in such a venture.  One can dream though.

Any thoughts or opinions are welcome.

Thanks.

Jason

nigel's picture
nigel
mmm

I have been learning saddlery and leatherwork for the last 2 years. For 2 reasons, 1. I ride horses and I like doing it, and 2. It's a post peak oil  job. My advice is to find something that makes you happy that you can do even if the world doesn't end.

The other areas I have thought of:

Toolshop. Take scrap metal and smelt it into new tools. It's sort of a modern take on a blacksmith. You see in the next few years spare parts for modern industrial machinery will be in more demand as people choose to repair rather than replace. Set your self up with a lathe, drills, presses, a smelter and some way of powering all these things that are off grid. As things decline you will move into a traditional blacksmith role. Be able to fabricate a part as needed.

Bootmaker. People need shoes.

Junk Collector. It doesn't sound nice but you can often pick up some very interesting things beside the road. I picked up a 100 year old oak table that I restored.