Future Business or Employment Ideas

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Kansaslandscape's picture
Kansaslandscape
Future Business or Employment Ideas

I am a landscape architect practicing on my own for three years now, with a previous ten years of employment. Since I do not qualify for government contract jobs work has been sparse. I know there are many "middle management" architects and engineers that suffered the same fate. Since my skillset is mostly construction-based, I find no immediate employment opportunites. At this time, I am researching a vocational skillset to transition into. One idea was welding. Another was well boring (oil, gas, geothermal, or water). Solar/Wind renewables worry me since there is still little public demand at this time, and have little desire to wait it out. 

I am curious to hear what others in a similar situation are considering. I hear of "man camps" in North Dakot a where people work the oil fields and make a six figure income. My research continues to produce fake leads and heady promises.

Your thoughts?

Full Moon's picture
Full Moon
welding yes.

There are jobs for welders here  in Kansas . $15-28 per hour with benifits.        Even if you need to get a farming job welding is a bonus .

Kansaslandscape's picture
Kansaslandscape
security retreats

I agree, the future skillsets will require some level of cross pollination between industries. Vocational skillsets that appeal to electronics, manufacturing, and agriculture might be the direction to go.

I heard three different civil/structural engineers call popular talk radio programs and talk about this problem over the week, ironically enough. With the collapse of the construction industry, there is a retooling of the American job market.

As a landscape architect, I have been able to work on two "security retreats" for two wealthy individuals in Kansas City. I find this line of work VERY fascinating but find it difficult to adequately market a service that is expected to go unseen.