The Definitive Chicken Thread

69 posts / 0 new
Last post
greendoc's picture
greendoc
The Definitive Chicken Thread

First let me say, I have been raising backyard chickens for close to ten years, and consider my flock to be family members.   But I wanted to point out a health risk many people may not realize.  IF you have a backyard flock that comingles with wild birds carrying H5N1 it is possible they could become infected. Wild geese, duck and quail are reservoirs for H5N1 in other countries, and could so be here.  Humans handling/eating infected birds have died.   We let our chickens free range in the yard (with the wild quail ) and poo happens.  And kids (and humans) step in poo and track in the house.  Kids play on the floor and eat without washing their hands.  Live virus is spread through oral -fecal contact.  You get the picture.

If H5N1 makes here (which probably eventually happen) I am prepared to kill my flock (humanly) so as to minimize any chance of my family or neighbors contracting avian flu.   Of course, I hope it never comes to this, but I think it pays to be informed about the possibility.  Part of being a caretaker for animals is to responsibly handle them so as not to be a public health risk.  

Anyway, raising backyard poutlry  is very rewarding, this thread promises to be entertaining.

Read more here:  http://www.cdc.gov/flu/avian/gen-info/avian-flu-humans.htm

http://www.kingcounty.gov/healthServices/health/ehs/avianflu/meateggs.aspx

In areas of the world with avian flu outbreaks, has anyone gotten infected from poultry meat or eggs?

Yes.
A large percentage of the confirmed human cases in Southeast Asia and
other countries with outbreaks are believed to have become infected
during the slaughtering or subsequent handling of diseased or dead
birds prior to cooking. In these countries, poultry is often raised in
backyard settings and either eaten by the family or sold in live bird