The US can double energy productivity over the next 20 years...

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
jberryhill's picture
jberryhill
The US can double energy productivity over the next 20 years...

Excerpts from: http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/02/07/usa-efficiency-energy-idUSL1N0B6I7L20130207

Commission lays out U.S. energy efficiency roadmap through 2030

"The United States can double energy productivity over the next 20 years by boosting investments in energy efficiency, reforming tax credits for energy savings and engaging state and local governments, a report released on Thursday said".

"Report says measures would increase GDP by up to 2 pct"

I am a professional in the energy efficency space and a noob to the PeakProsperity community. I would appreciate comments and thoughts on the statements in this article.   -   Jack

bbobwat33's picture
bbobwat33
the fed really cant afford

the fed really cant afford tax credits for individuals or local governments. and they can't afford another beaurocracy or government program either. they need all the money they can get right now and don't need anymore expenditures. that being said they'll probably do it if it's seen as bipartisan and for the sake of doing something.

ralfy's picture
ralfy
In a free market capitalist

In a free market capitalist economy, efficiency leads to more consumption as underutilized resources translate to opportunity costs.

Meanwhile, economic growth requuires increasing energy and resource demand.

LesPhelps's picture
LesPhelps
According to CM, investment has already doubled

If China and India increased energy efficiency, it would have a greater impact on the global energy picture.