A friend of mine has reviewed The Crash Course videos, and he has some questions. Please help. Thank you!

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
stanjackson's picture
stanjackson
A friend of mine has reviewed The Crash Course videos, and he has some questions. Please help. Thank you!

1.  What is Chris Martenson's economic background, or is he more self taught and read?

2.  He says a lot of things that make sense and sound plausible, but I don't have a deep background in economics to compare against to evaluate their validity and soundness.  In particular, it seems that he is observing correlation and implying/assuming causation.  This does not necessarily, by itself, mean he is wrong, it just needs to be approached and examined with caution to ensure the correct conclusion(s) is (are) being drawn.

3.  Also he seems to be ignoring other outside influences (in particular with oil exploration and discovery).  For example, he bases some of his estimates of when peak oil will occur based on what has historically been observed in the US, but how much of that is due to realities of environmental limitations and how much is due to governmental policies that have curtailed exploration and development of existing oil fields?  However, this does not change the point he was making that the economic assumption now is that we have an effectively unlimited source and supply of cheap energy to fuel economic growth, which is not compatible with the realities of the world we live in (although it may have been reasonable up to even 10 years ago, it is not now or looking any distance into the future).

rayne's picture
rayne
Chris is well informed when