Horsepowered farming

threehhorse
By threehhorse on Wed, Jan 30, 2013 - 2:33pm

I have been a long time follower of the crash course/ peak prosperity website. I have been preparing for a different future for about five years now. I have been around horses all of my life and live close to the Amish community here in Ohio. So it was not a stretch for me to decide to use horses for the tractive power in my farming and gardening projects. 

Several years ago I bought a 15 year old Percheron mare named Hope. Hope had been in the Amish community for 12 years and a horseback riding center for 3 years. Hope was used on all farm machinery and over the highway wagon trains in that time. The nice part  is that she has been there done that and very little surprises her.

Since aquiring her I also purchased a manure spreader, mowing machine, plow, disk, harrow, corn planter, sled and desiigned and built a forecart with hydraulics and winch for pulling in firewood.  I plow, disk, cutivate, and mow my vegtable garden, corn and some hay with her.

We use the manure from her and several other horses to fertilize the crops. We use a bioextensive garden system developed by Ann and Eric Nordell to make the use of manure safe in our organic garden.

We read The Small Farmers Journal and Rural Heritage magazines. Draft Animal Power and Rural Heritage"s website are very good sources for information.

There are thousands of people out there that have experience with horses and the Equine Colleges turn out hundreds of young men and women with horse knowledge each year. All of these people with the right incentive could learn to do this, partnering with a person with a farm or gardening background.  

I hope this starts a great discussion. I am going to follow this up with dicussions about  the particulars of this endeavor.

Threehhorse 

16 Comments

rheba's picture
rheba
Horse Farming