WSID? Step 7 - Protecting Wealth

brighton_roy
By brighton_roy on Tue, Jul 10, 2012 - 12:16pm

This discussion builds on the ideas in Step 7 of the WSID series

3 Comments

Algie's picture
Algie
Learn to think differently!

Don't rely on systems that are deemed to be normal and eternally reliable today to preserve your wealth or as part of an investment strategy.

Pensions - I'm 20+ years from retirement age.  I've been paying into various pension funds for 20+ years.  It is my personal opinion that these will be utterly useless by the time I'm supposed to retire, so I have stopped paying in to them. Why?

1. My latest pension statement quotes a forecast annual growth rate of between 6.5% to 7.5%.  Where on earth are they investing this?  Spanish 10 year bonds?  There's nothing out there that is legal and providing a return like this.  So the growth estimates are grossly exagerated
  2. The value of £1 in 20 years time will be considerably less than today, i.e. inflation.  However, governments have been manipulating inflation figures for years, so even investments keeping up with official inflation probably are losing out in real terms.  My shopping as jumped up a helluva lot more than the 2+% of official inflation. My view is it's because the basket of goods used to calculate inflation is averaging out the ups ad downs of individual items.  Food is going up, but flatscreen tellies are going down in price.  Problem is who buys a new telly when they are struggling to put food on the table.  We feel the pain of the expensive items and get no benefit from the cheaper items

Savings - Yes the government suposedly backs the first £85k of savings.  That is until they have to change the rules because they can't keep that promise.  Won't happen?  The government promised?  You mean some lying, double talking politician promised?  IF we get to a full collapse of the financial system, I'm not going to be relying on the government to protect my savings